Stony Brook to CWS….What’s Our Takeaway??

 Hitmorelinedrives.com

The NCAA Super Regionals are always exciting. To me, the college baseball playoff is one of the best events to watch.  It seems like every game is close as teams battle to make it to the pinnacle of college baseball….Omaha. The series between Stony Brook and LSU was one of the best I have seen.  Stony Brook controlled game 1 until the Tigers fought back at the end.  Then Stony Brook took control and showed they were the better team in games 2 and 3.  Always searching to learn something from each game, the approach by the Seawolves at the plate is something that all teams should strive to follow.

I don’t know how many times I heard the announcers say it. “They are staying inside the ball.” “Short to the ball.” “Battling at the plate.”  Stony Brook was looking to drive the baseball through the middle of the field.  I looked at the pitch count in the 2nd inning and the LSU starter had thrown around 40 pitches as opposed to the Stony Brook starter around 20.  They foul pitches off, and battle.

During our hitting lessons, and with teams I have coached,  I preach driving the ball through the middle of the field.  As a right handed hitter I always say “take the pitcher’s left ear off”, or right ear for a lefty. This swing thought keeps us short to the ball and trying to drive through it.  Of course, by staying short, we end up pulling the inside pitch, driving the pitch down the middle back up the middle, and taking the outside pitch the other way.

I’m ready for the CWS.  When you watch Stony Brook the next time they play, pay attention to their approach at the plate.  This approach may lead them to do what Fresno State did a few years back.  Which is win it all as a #4 seed!!

Jon

“Like” my Facebook Page

“Follow” me on Twitter

About hitmorelinedrives

Founder of http://hitmorelinedrives.com. A coach striving to improve the games of baseball and softball for players, coaches, and parents.
This entry was posted in Baseball, Softball, Sports and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment